Síguenos en: facebook twitter google plus rss
Webscolar » Inglés » Currency in differents countries

Currency in differents countries

0 Flares 0 Flares ×


EURO: is the legal tender for more than 315 million people in 15 EU countries. The symbol for the euro is €. The euro notes are identical in all countries but each country issues its own coins with one common side and one side displaying a distinctive national emblem.



YUAN: is the currency of the People’s Republic of China (PRC), whose principal unit is the yuan (simplified Chinese: 元; pinyin: yuan; Wade-Giles: yüan), subdivided into 10 jiao (角), each of 10 fen (分). The renminbi is issued by the People’s Bank of China, the monetary authority of the PRC. The ISO 4217 abbreviation is CNY, although also commonly abbreviated as “RMB”. The Latinised symbol is ¥.



RUPEE: is the currency of India. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. The most commonly used symbols for the rupee are Rs, ₨. The ISO 4217 code for the Indian rupee is INR. The modern rupee is subdivided into 100 paise (singular paisa).



PESO: is the currency of the Republic of Colombia. Its ISO 4217 code is COP and it is also informally abbreviated as COL$. However, the official peso symbol is $. See Currency of Colombia for more detail on Colombia’s monetary history. The peso has been the currency of Colombia since 1837. It replaced the real at a rate of 1 peso = 8 reales and was initially subdivided into 8 reales.



BALBOA: is the currency of Panama. Its ISO 4217 code is PAB. It is named in honour of the Spanish explorer / conquistador Vasco Nuñez de Balboa. The Balboa replaced the Colombian peso in 1904 following the country’s independence. The Balboa has been tied to the United States dollar at an exchange rate of 1:1 since its introduction and has always circulated alongside dollars.


DOLLARS: is the unit of currency of the United States. The U.S. dollar has also been adopted as the official and legal currency by the governments in a few other countries. The U.S. dollar is normally abbreviated as the dollar sign, $, or as USD or US$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies and from others that use the $ symbol. It is divided into 100 centesimos.



REAL: the present-day currency of Brazil and was also the currency during the period 1690 to 1942. When the first real circulated, the plural used was reis. The currently used plural form is reais, with the symbol R$ and ISO 4217 code BRL. The modern real is subdivided into 100 centavos.



NAIRA: is the currency of Nigeria. The ISO currency code is NGN. It is subdivided into 100 kobo. The symbol for the naira is ₦, which is included in Unicode at code point U+20A6. The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) is the sole issuer of legal tender money throughout the Federation. It controls the volume of money supply in the economy in order to ensure monetary and price stability.



EURO: is the legal tender for more than 315 million people in 15 EU countries. The symbol for the euro is €. The euro notes are identical in all countries but each country issues its own coins with one common side and one side displaying a distinctive national emblem.



NEW SHEQEL: is the currency of Israel. It replaced the sheqel on January 1, 1986 at a rate of 1,000 old sheqalim = 1 new sheqel. The ISO 4217 code is ILS. The new sheqel is divided into 100 agorot. In Hebrew the new sheqel is usually abbreviated shaḥ. The symbol for the new sheqel, is a combination of the first Hebrew letters of the words sheqel and ḥadash).



RIYAL: is the currency of Saudi Arabia. It is abbreviated as SR. It is subdivided into 100 halala. The riyal has been the currency of Saudi Arabia since the country came in to being and was the currency of Hejaz before Saudi Arabia was created. The Hejaz riyal was based on the Ottoman 20 kuruş coin and was consequently divided into 20 ghirsh.



POUND STERLING: is the currency of the United Kingdom, its Crown dependencies and the British Overseas Territories of South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, British Antarctic Territory and British Indian Ocean Territory. The ISO 4217 currency code is GBP. Occasionally, the abbreviation UKP is used but this is incorrect. The currency sign is the pound sign, originally with two cross-bars.



THE ASIAN CURRENCY UNIT (ACU): is a proposed weighted index of currencies for ASEAN+3. The ACU was inspired by the now defunct European Currency Unit, replaced by the Euro. The Asian Currency Unit’s purpose is to help stabilize the region’s financial markets. ASEAN+3 is composed of the member countries of ASEAN, the People’s Republic of China, Japan, and Republic of Korea. The ACU as it is proposed is a currency basket and not a real currency, i.e., a weighted index of East Asian currencies that will function as a benchmark for regional currency movements.



BOLIVAR: The Bolivar forte is the new currency of Venezuela since January 1, 2008. It is subdivided into 100 centeximos. The Bolivar forte replaced the Bolivar at the rate of 1 Bs.F = 1000 Bs. due to inflation. The old bolívar was the currency of Venezuela between 1879 and 2007. It was also subdivided into 100 centesimos.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Clasificación: 0.0/5 (0 votos)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Clasificación: 0 (de 0 votos)

Citar este texto en formato APA: _______. (2013). WEBSCOLAR. Currency in differents countries. https://www.webscolar.com/currency-in-differents-countries. Fecha de consulta: 9 de diciembre de 2019.

Descargar PDF Descargar



Escribir Comentario



© 2010 - 2019 Webscolar


0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Pin It Share 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×